What does it mean when a dog wags their tail?

A wagging tail with soft body language like ears drawn back and a big toothy grin on the dog's face indicates the dog is relaxed and playful. A wagging tail with hard body language like ears up and forward and lips forward with the front teeth bared means the dog is upset and could bite.