Has an asteroid ever hit the earth?

Yes, one hit the earth millions of years ago and completely wiped out the dinosaurs.

---

Yes. It was an asteroid hit that caused the extinction of the dinosaurs.

---

Every day, Earth is hit with more than 100 tons of sand-sized particles. About once a year, an automobile-sized asteroid hits Earth's atmosphere, creates an impressive fireball, and burns up before reaching the surface. Larger meteorites strike once every 2000 years and create more damage.