Is a brussel sprout related to a cabbage?

Brussels sprouts look like Barbie-sized cabbages. ... These sprouts are not actually baby cabbages, but they are in the same family, the Brassica, or cruciferous family. Members include kale, broccoli, cauliflower, collard greens, turnips, mustard, and bok choy.