What is the name marshmallow mean?

A marshmallow is a tall pink-flowered European plant that grows in brackish marshes. The roots were formerly used to make marshmallow candy, and it is sometimes cultivated for medicinal use. Marshmallows are also soft, chewy confections made of sugar and gelatin. It's not really a name.