How was the statue of liberty damaged?

The explosion at Black Tom Island was felt as far away as Philadelphia. On July 30th, 1916, German saboteurs detonated an explosion at a nearby munitions dump, that damaged the Statue of Liberty, making the ladder up in the torch off limits.