How was the margarita invented?

One of the earliest stories is of the margarita being invented in 1938 by Carlos "Danny" Herrera at his restaurant Rancho La Gloria, halfway between Tijuana and Rosarito, Baja California, created for former Ziegfeld dancer Marjorie King, who was allergic to many spirits, but not to tequila.