Who is hidden figures?

"Hidden Figures" is a movie about three African-American females working as mathematicians in the NASA space race to the moon. The three women are : Katherine Johnson, played by Taraji P. Henson, Dorothy Vaughan, played by Octavia Spencer, and Mary Jackson, played by Janelle Monae