How do you know hard boiled eggs are done?

You can determine the doneness of a boiled egg by smashing it. If it's runny, it's not done. But seriously, making a perfectly cooked hard-boiled egg is harder than it sounds. You need to boil a raw egg for 10-15 minutes depending on the level of doneness you desire.