What does before common era mean?

Simply put, BCE (Before Common Era) is a secular version of BC (before Christ). CE (Common Era) is the secular equivalent of AD (anno Domini), which means “in the year of the Lord” in Latin. ... BCE/CE have been in frequent use by Jewish academics for more than 100 years.