Do ostriches actually stick their heads in the sand?

Contrary to popular belief, ostriches do not bury their heads in the sand when freighted or scared. However, they may, at times, look like they have their heads in the sand. Ostriches lay their eggs in shallow holes in the sand. They use their beaks several times a day to turn the eggs.