What does hot cocoa mean?

Hot cocoa is a drink made with sugar, milk, cocoa powder, and vanilla and salt to taste. Hot chocolate tastes similar, but is made using melted chocolate instead of cocoa powder. The terms "hot cocoa" and "hot chocolate" are often used interchangeably.