Who invented macaroni and cheese?

The exact origin of macaroni and cheese is unknown, though it most likely hails from Northern Europe, with the earliest known recorded recipe being scribbled down in 1769. Thomas Jefferson, brought back noodle recipes and a pasta machine from France.