Are sharks in danger?

Sharks have been swimming in Earth's oceans since before the time of the dinosaurs. In recent years they have faced rapid population declines due to over fishing and at least one quarter of shark species are considered in danger of extinction. Every year, over 100 million sharks are slaughtered.