Why is pink lemonade pink?

Pink lemonade is a rose-tinted beverage made from lemon juice, sugar, water, and some sort of red or pink dye (natural or artificial) for coloring. Natural food colorings typically used include cranberry juice, grenadine, and crushed strawberries.

---

Commercially sold pink lemonade contains food dye, or food coloring.