Does vegetable oil spoil?

Yes it does. In general, vegetable oil remains fresh for six months after opening or up to one year unopened. Vegetable oil may change color or become slightly cloudy as it sits, but if you notice a sharp, bitter flavor or odor, the oil is probably rancid.