What does lice look like?

Head lice are approximately the size of a sesame seed, and vary in color from clear to reddish brown. While they do not jump or fly, they can move quickly from one head to another. Head lice eggs, or nits, look like oval-shaped, white-ish brown specs, and are approximately the size of a poppy seed.