How do weighted blankets work?

Weighted blankets work in a way that's similar to an O.T. technique called deep touch pressure therapy (DTP). Pressure on the body can increase the release of serotonin in the brain. This neurotransmitter is sometimes called the “happy” chemical because it creates a sense of calm and well-being.