What state is above virginia?

Virginia is bordered by Maryland and West Virginia to the north.

---

There are five states that border Virginia; Maryland and West Virginia to the north, Kentucky to the west, Tennessee and North Carolina to the south. The east side of Virginia is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean.