Is the water horse real?

Hippopotamus or hippo is amphibious African ungulate mammal called a water horse. A water horse referenced in folklore is mythical, dangerous, predatory creature with appearance of a horse and resides around rivers, lakes, seas, anywhere there is water. Said to drown and eat humans in the water.