What is in milk?

The principal constituents of milk are water, fat, proteins, lactose (milk sugar) and minerals (salts). Milk also contains trace amounts of other substances such as pigments, enzymes, vitamins, phospholipids (substances with fatlike properties), and gases.

---

Milk contains over 100 components. Its composition is understood principally in terms of the fat, protein, lactose (carbohydrate), vitamins, minerals and water it contains. The major component of milk is water at 87.3%.