What is a female chromosome?

In mammals the X and Y chromosome pair determine gender, with two X's resulting in a female and an XY a male. Since all mammals have at least one X with the second sex chromosome determining the apparent gender, the X is referred to as the female chromosome and the Y the male chromosome.