What does s. e. p. mean?

A simplified employee pension, or SEP, is an individual retirement account that an employer or a self-employed person can establish. The employer is allowed a tax deduction for contributions made to a SEP IRA and makes contributions to each eligible employee's plan on a discretionary basis.