How do you flatten a rug?

Try these: Take either a steamer or a wet sponge or towel and dampen the edges of the unrolled rug. Lay a damp towel over the edges, and iron them flat. Lay the rug where you would like it to go, and then rearrange your furniture. Place heavy books, such as phone books, on the corners.