How many species go extinct each day?

Scientists estimate that 150-200 species of plant, insect, bird and mammal become extinct each day. This is nearly 1,000 times the “natural” or “background” rate and, say many biologists, is greater than anything the world has experienced since the vanishing of the dinosaurs 65 million years ago