What do you call a dog in the summer?

Wikipedia noted that the dog days or dog days of summer are the hot, sultry days of summer. They were historically the period following the rising of the star system Sirius, which Greek and Roman astrology connected with heat, drought, sudden thunderstorms, lethargy, fever, mad dogs, and bad luck.