Has stevie wonder been blind since birth?

Stevie Wonder, Born Stevland Hardaway Judkins, arrived six weeks early. The stunted growth of blood vessels in the back of his eyes caused his retinas to detach, and the oxygen pumped into his incubator made the condition worse, leaving him permanently blind.