How long can the human body go without sleep?

The longest recorded time without sleep is approximately 264 hours, or just over 11 consecutive days. Although it's unclear exactly how long humans can survive without sleep, it isn't long before the effects of sleep deprivation start to show.

---

The longest recorded time without sleep is 264 hours, just over 11 consecutive days. There's no exact number of time a body can go without sleep as it can vary from person to person. Sleep deprivation can start after 36 to 48 hours in most humans.

---

The last recorded experiment from 1964 reached 11 whole days (264 hours) without sleep. As prolonged sleep deprivation is extremely harmful to human health The Guinness Book of Records is no longer accepting entries in this category. Many discussions are lately held on humanity of sleep deprivation.