How many shots are in a cocktail?

A standard cocktail contains around 1.5 fluid ounces of alcohol. A standard shot glass holds around 1.5 ounces of fluid. Some cocktails may contain more than one shot of alcohol depending on the cocktail recipe and bartender making the drink.