Where did the term bookworm come from?

The origin of the idiom “bookworm” probably originated as a somewhat derogatory term for a person who studied or read more than was usual. Bugs such as silverfish, booklice, and linoleum beetles were referred to as bookworms because they inhabited books; thus the idiom.