How was jelly made?

Jelly is made by extracting fruit juice and cooking it with sugar and pectin (natural or commercially made) to thicken it to a firm, but spreadable consistency. It's often used with whole fruits that have seeds in them or skins, like grapes, cranberries, and raspberries.