How was jelly made?

Jelly is made by extracting fruit juice and cooking it with sugar and pectin (natural or commercially made) to thicken it to a firm, but spreadable consistency. It's often used with whole fruits that have seeds in them or skins, like grapes, cranberries, and raspberries.

---

Jelly is made by heating fruit, adding sugar and sometimes pectin, and straining it through a sieve or cheesecloth to remove all solid bits. Then it is poured into containers and allowed to cool.