How do you lateral in madden?

Once you are past the line of scrimmage, you activate the ball carrier buttons and can perform a lateral pass. To lateral pass on PS4, press Left Bumper (L1) on the controller. To lateral pass on Xbox One, press Left Bumper (LB) on the controller.