What's the difference between showers and rainy weather?

Showers, also known as rain showers, have a shorter duration than rain. They tend to be quick and come in bursts. Showers come from puffy clouds or cumuliform clouds, like cumulus or cumulonimbus. ... Compared to rain, showers cover a smaller area but can be more intense.