Why do cats noses get wet?

Cat's noses are wet primarily due to fluid production from sweat glands on the nasal planum (hairless nose skin), although some of the moisture also comes from drainage of the inferior tear duct (lower tear duct), which drains normal tear fluid from the surface of the eye.