What kind of a doctor is doctor oz?

His medical degree was earned at University of Pennsylvania. Oz has been a professor at the Department of Surgery at Columbia University since 2001. He directs the Cardiovascular Institute and Complementary Medicine Program at New York-Presbyterian Hospital.