Who is liberty?

The original model may have been an Egyptian woman. Many historians say that the Statue of Liberty was modeled after Libertas, the Roman goddess of freedom. However, sculptor Frrderic-Auguste Bartholdi was first inspired by the colossal figures guarding Nubian tombs.