What was the first cat on earth?

The oldest cat is unknown. However, cats and many other mammalian carnivores evolved from a common ancestor called Dormaalocyon, which lived 55 million years ago. It lived in trees and hunted insects. Dormaalocyon resembled the Tasmanian tiger, but was only the size of a common red squirrel.