Why do people say bless you when they sneeze?

The most popular theory is that it originated in Rome when the bubonic plague was ravaging Europe. Sneezing was one the plague's main symptoms, and it is believed that Pope Gregory suggested that a tiny prayer in the form of saying, “God bless you” after a sneeze would protect the person from death.