What does p. p. o. stand for in insurance?

P.P.O. stands for Preferred Provider Organization. Preferred Providers are doctors offices, clinics, and hospitals that have predefined relationships with insurance companies to charge lower rates for their services. Usually, copays and coinsurance are lower for these providers.