What city is entirely built on poles?

Most of Amsterdam’s buildings are built on wooden poles that are between 15 and 20 meters in length. A typical house in the city center is supported by around 10 poles, but Amsterdam’s Royal Palace sits on more than 13,500 wooden piles.