Why do ladybugs have dots?

A ladybug's spots are a warning to predators. This color combination—black and red or orange—is known as aposematic coloration. It means "I taste bad" or "I'm poisonous." Ladybugs aren't the only animals that use aposematic coloration to discourage predators either.