How do you trim a beat?

To prevent color from bleeding during boiling, cut tops off beets, leaving at least 1 inch of stem; do not trim root ends. Cut the tops off of the beets, leaving at least 1 inch of stem. Scrub beets under running water with soft vegetable brush, being careful not to break skins.