What grows on potatoes?

Potatoes are susceptible to various fungi. But, barring those concerns the most common thing to grow on a potato does not grow on it. It comes from within the potato. When a potato begins to sprout, the starch inside the potato converts to sugars enabling the sprout/plant to grow.