What causes explosion?

A rise in temperature of the element. Propane is a good example of an explosion. When released to the atmosphere, it immediately boils and turns into gas (vapor) at 270:1 one gallon of liquid equals 270 gallons of vapor. Raise the atmospheric temperature and you have an explosion rate of 270:1.