How does one become a werewolf?

In fiction, to become a werewolf, one must have survived a werewolf attack, and have received a scratch or bite from the offending werewolf. Then, once the mutation is obtained and altered the receiving person’s genes, they must wait for a full moon to become a werewolf themselves.