Is a lion or a tiger stronger?

The conservation charity Save China's Tigers stated "Recent research indicates that the tiger is indeed stronger than the lion in terms of physical strength. A tiger is generally physically larger than a lion. Most experts would favor a Siberian and Bengal tiger over an African lion."