Who is known as the fifth beatle?

The phrase originated in 1964 when U.S. disc jockey Murray the K claimed himself the 5th Beatle due to the huge amount of coverage & promotion he gave The Beatles on his radio show. Original drummer Pete Best, bassist Stuart Sutcliffe & keyboardist Billy Preston were also given this title.