Who did stocks do during the world war?

The Dow increased 10% on the first day of trading after Hitler invaded Poland in 1939. When the attack on Pearl Harbor occurred, stocks fell 2.9% but regained those losses in one month. From 1939 until the end of the war in late 1945, the Dow saw increases of 50%, more than 7% per year.