What's the etymology of towhead?

The “tow” in “towhead,” according to the Oxford English Dictionary, refers to “the fibre of flax, hemp, or jute prepared for spinning.” Since flax is a light color, blond people (especially kids) are sometimes referred to as “towheads” or “towheaded,” expressions first recorded in the 19th century.