What does the word a. f. f. e. c. t. mean?

The resulting outcome of external pressures on a person, place, or thing. Example,,a virus affects humans physically, making them feel bad.

---

Affect is both a noun and a verb, but the verb is far more common; it means "to act on or change someone or something," as in "The change will affect everyone."