What does a bayleaf do?

A bayleaf is used to flavor dishes such as spaghetti sauce and chili.

---

A bay leaf is a seasoning that adds another layer of flavor to soups, stews and sauces. When the leaf is dried, the aroma is herbal, slightly floral, and somewhat similar to oregano and thyme. Excellent when used in tomato based sauces.